Shopper Marketing and Customer Experience Management

we believe it takes an inspiring story to make people buy

MAC man

I am never never sure of my cosmetics purchase. I always wonder if I have chosen the right colour. It is only when someone else compliments me do I feel like I got my money’s worth. Smile!

I can say with conviction, every woman has at least 3 colour cosmetics products on her dresser that she hasn’t ever worn.

Thats why there is growing industry of personal shoppers in the US, who help women navigate an increasingly littered maze of lipsticks, blushes, foundations, eye shadows and other cosmetics.

My last experience was at the Palladium store Mumbai. I went in knowing exactly what I wanted. I had no trouble explaining me need to a trained man. He got quick on the job and offered me just ONE product. It was a tad different from what I was looking for. He went ahead and put me on a chair (figuratively) sanitized his hands, used a remover to take of the colour on my lip and spent ample time applying the colour on my lips in a very professional manner.

287513492_393ce1e308_z

Like he had nothing else to do all day.

When he was done he looked at me in the mirror and HE was convinced. And so was I.

Being a retail professional I also give him full marks for attempting to cross sell a liner.

What I took from here is that he came to me with ONE product, it was perfect and he made a sale. It takes an expert to have that kind of conviction. No prizes for guessing where I will be going for my colour cosmetics. To the guys who do not leave me thinking if I had made the right choice. Problem solved.

Vibrant MAC does not advertise or run promotions. It grows with stories like these.

2 comments on “MAC man

  1. Gouthami
    July 29, 2013

    And that is where MAC wins over Health & Glow for me. I would love to browse through the H&G make up shelves cos they have a wide range of brands, prices and shades. But when you go close, the women there pounce on me and show me colours which are the in thing that week – regardless of what I am looking for or what would suit me. I try to sneak up quietly, but they always catch me and then I beat a hasty retreat. The MAC person is helpful without being pushy – that is something really difficult to get.

    • thebuystories
      July 29, 2013

      So true Gouthami.
      Infact if one notices carefully the sales associates at departmental stores are a very intelligent breed. For their own good they will wait till you have made a decision with 1 of the brand and then show you something exactly like that available in their brand’s range. Saving themselves the time spent on helping someone choose.
      Increasing confusion and upping the post purchase dissonance for us!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 946 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

