Shopper Marketing and Customer Experience Management

we believe it takes an inspiring story to make people buy

potential of gift cards

As a person I hate gift certificates.  It stirs very very strong negative emotions. To me it is the way to tell someone ‘I don’t care enough to go through the effort’.
But then when I think of it from a business point of view, pushing sale of gift cards seems like a no brainer.

Here is what retailers have to say about it:

“Gift Certificates require no inventory, take up no floor space, and generate immediate cash. They represent an interest-free loan to me that will be paid back in merchandise that will probably cost me half of the loan amount. I think of my Gift Certificate program as a bank with the most favorable lending rates in the world!” — TSB, Golf Shop Owner

giftcarddisplay2

YET ALL GIFT CARD

DISPLAY/DISPENSING UNITS

LOOK LIKE CRAP!

WHYYYYYY???


more stories: https://www.datamanage.com/giftcert/images/customer-files/Secrets_to_Success_for_GCC.pdf

BUYSTORIES is working on making your gift cards desirable by crafting a beautiful story. Gifting is supposed to be memorable. As shopper communication experts we will make the buying and receiving of gift certificates a memorable experience. Write to us on inbox@thebuystories.com to find out how.

4 comments on “potential of gift cards

  1. Rahul Kulkarni
    May 28, 2013

    Personally, I haven’t received or bought one ever. But knowing the gifting scenario in this country’s metro, I think it’s a wonderful option for retailers and the shopper’s, too. A win-win situation! I am in for any brain-storming.

  2. thebuystories
    May 28, 2013

    Yes Rahul gift certificates are seldom consumed today. They are undesirable to (inappropriate to me) because of the way they have been treated. A different approach that stirs the right emotions, making the idea desirable can make the shift.

  3. Chinmay
    July 18, 2013

    Maybe we should call it the choice card 🙂

  4. thebuystories
    July 18, 2013

    I am with you Chinmay. Perhaps sending tons of memorable experience stories around ‘the choice card’ will help make the shift.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 946 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

